Call for entries: James Laughlin Award

poets org-400x400

Offered since 1954, the James Laughlin Award is given to recognize and support a second book of poetry forthcoming in the next calendar year. The award was endowed in 1995 by a gift to the Academy from the Drue Heinz Trust. It is named for the poet and publisher James Laughlin (1914-1997), who founded New Directions in 1936.

The winner receives a prize of $5,000, an all-expenses-paid weeklong residency in The Writer’s Room at The Betsy – South Beach in Miami Beach, Florida, and distribution of the winning book to approximately one-thousand Academy of American Poets members.

The judges for 2016 are Ellen Bass, Jericho Brown, and Carmen Giménez Smith.

Submissions are accepted January 1 through May 15 each year. Postmark deadline: May 15.

(Academy of American Poets,

See past winners, and review the Guidelines and Entry Form on the Academy of American Poets website HERE.