James Laughlin Award Residency

With the Academy of American Poets

The Academy of American Poets is pleased to announce a new partnership with the Betsy-South Beach Hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Beginning in 2015, recipients of the organization’s distinguished James Laughlin Award, the only second-book award for poetry in the United States, will receive an all-expenses-paid weeklong residency at the Betsy’s Writer’s Room. This new partnership is part of the Academy of American Poets
ongoing efforts to support poets at all stages of their careers, and ensure that its prizes for poets are among the most generous in the United States.

About the James Laughlin Award
Offered since 1954, the James Laughlin Award was endowed in 1995 by a gift to the Academy from the Drue Heinz Trust. It is named for the poet and publisher James Laughlin (1914-1997), who founded New Directions Publishing in 1936. The annual award is one of the American Poets Prizes, a collection of seven major prizes given by the Academy of American Poets. Other prizes include the $100,000 Wallace Stevens award for lifetime achievement; the $25,000 Academy of American Poets Fellowship; the $25,000 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize, which is the most generous book-of-the-year prize in poetry; and the Walt Whitman Award, the most valuable first-book publication prize for poetry. (poets.org)